How to call an external API

Hi, still working my way around the adonis framework, I have a noob question:
I want to call the API of an external application (monday.com) and use the response (JSON) to display on one of my pages.

1. How do I call the API from adonis? I know there are several packages (https, request, axios etc) but what is the best way forward?
  2. The data that comes back only needs some sorting, filtering etc before displaying. Where should the data live; can i simply add this to the context object? or is there a better way?

Hope my questions are clear and someone can help.
Boudewijn

1 - There’s no information in the Official docs about this, so, i assumed that i would need an external package. Then, i created a “Service” Controller for this, the other Controllers call this “External API” controller.

2- If you want, you can save the data in some database table. But if you just need to “order”, pass it to the Controller.

I’m not an expert in Adonisjs but, i’m with a production API working for almost 2 months and I have come across many of these scenarios. That’s how i solved them.

Unversed

Thanks. I tried axios and can get the data out of monday.com. I now did it in the js-file that implements Vue on my page, however that file loads and is visible in the “network” tab in developer console, and so would my Api Key be. So I would probably indeed need to go with the controller; any suggestion on how to do that? I want to use something like this:

loadDash: function(){
axios.get(‘https://api.monday.com:443/v1/users.json?api_key=myApiKey’)
.then((user_response) => {
userdata = user_response.data
console.log(this.userdata)
})
.catch((error) => {
console.log(error);
});
}

How do I pass the userdata from the controller to the view? or is that always available?